Vegg Nogg Recipe

A super simple vegan eggnog recipe that’s now my standard holiday drink.

Dave Gutteridge
5 min readDec 23, 2020
A bottle of Vegg Nogg sitting on a table with a Christmas themed background.
Threw together a little advertisement. I’m not selling anything, though, this was just practice for my design portfolio.

Since eggnog is not really available in Tokyo, at least not for any reasonable price, I’ve been making my own.

The fact that this recipe can be made in a completely vegan way is actually just kind of incidental. The main reason this beat other recipes is that it’s super simple to make, but still tastes like the eggnog I remember drinking as a kid.

I’m calling it Vegg Nogg, because it’s vegan, and, just for kicks, the extra G’s make it seem like a brand name.

Ingredients

5 cups of a non-dairy milk of your choice
½ cup vanilla pudding mix (almost any brand will do, see below for notes)
½ cup sugar
½ teaspoon ground nutmeg
½ teaspoon ground allspice
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
(… and whatever other spices you like. Maybe cloves? One recipe I saw suggested ginger, which seems weird to me, but you do you.)
A super tiny pinch of salt

Makes roughly six cups worth of Vegg Nogg.

The recipe is pretty flexible and forgiving, so all the above ingredients can be adjusted up…

--

--

Dave Gutteridge

I don't post often because I think about what I write. Topics include ethics, relationships, and philosophy.