Turns Out, I’m Just Some Guy

Dave Gutteridge
9 min readNov 17, 2022

I wonder if everyone feels the same hubris I do

A bunch of people walking around. Photo by Timon Studler ( unsplash.com/@derstudi )

I remember clearly standing near the side of the stage at a comedy show, while another comedian was on stage, and he was killing it. I had been on before him, and I viscerally felt the difference in the mildly amused response I had got compared to the laughs and applause breaks this guy was getting. It stung, in a way, every laugh that he got that I didn’t.

Deep down, I knew I was a good comedian, a better comedian. Better than I had performed, better than this guy. Better than anybody as far as I’m concerned.

If that’s true, then how do I reconcile the undeniable evidence before my eyes that this guy is making an audience laugh more than me?

The thing about cognitive dissonance, when you have facts that contradict your beliefs, especially a belief about what kind of person you are, is that you don’t reconcile them by choosing a more measurable, rational, or justifiable position. You take the outlook that’s more comforting, the one that defends your ego from harsh truths, no matter how much you have to twist your perception to pull that off.

Around the time that this happened where I was watching this other comedian be obviously better than me, I had been working on a book about comedy. I had this idea about how…

--

--

Dave Gutteridge

I don't post often because I think about what I write. Topics include ethics, relationships, and philosophy.