Too many princes

What rejection really means

Dave Gutteridge
8 min readSep 2, 2019

I was at this thing the other day, a social event at a restaurant, and there were these two women there, they worked at Tokyo Disney, as princesses. Maybe in the nightly parade or some shows or something? I don’t know how it works. In any case, they were blond and blue eyed and beautiful. I flirted a bit, but figured out very early on that I wasn’t going to get anything going with them. Oh well. My fallback in that kind of circumstance is that I invite them to a comedy show. Like, if they’re not going to be lovers or friends, then maybe an audience.

I had walked away before telling them about when my next show was, so it was later in the evening, just before I was about to leave, that I went over to make mention of my shows as part of a goodbye. The princesses were talking to these two other guys, one older dude who had a daughter who was into Disney, and this younger guy, I think he was from Germany or something. Anyway, I eased into the conversation, just to say civil goodbyes and make my offhand invitation. They could not have been less interested in coming to a show. The one I was speaking to directly nodded her head, saying, “sure, yeah,” but without even a hint of taking a note on when or where the show was. So, whatever.

Anyway, I guess the way I had interjected into the conversation made the German dude feel…

--

--

Dave Gutteridge

I don't post often because I think about what I write. Topics include ethics, relationships, and philosophy.