Signalling my virtues loud and fucking clear

Getting me some of that sweet, sweet, feminist pussy…?

Dave Gutteridge
8 min readOct 23, 2019
Man on top of a small hill holding a signal flare.

I’ve been accused of “virtue signalling” in the past.

One time it was in a debate about something to do with how male actors have long careers, but their love interests are always women within a narrow range of young and beautiful. Apparently my stance that Hollywood might have somewhat sexist conventions means I was “virtue signalling” that I am some kind of bleeding heart beta male cuck, licking the boots of feminazis who dictate my ethics to me on Tumblr blogs.

That’s what I took “virtue signalling” to mean. Maybe that’s an exaggeration?

I’m trying to parse what it really means. Clearly, on the surface level, the problem I’m being accused of is that I’m putting my social and political stances out there for all to see, and this is bad behaviour. I’m not just having beliefs, I’m telling everyone, and apparently there’s something nefarious about that.

Far as I can tell, it’s not necessarily the specific ideals themselves that are at issue, in that the term could be levied against potentially any kind of ideology. There’s no reason a racist couldn’t “virtue signal” by openly declaring that they hate other races. But they tend not to do that. People with certain views know they…

--

--

Dave Gutteridge

I don't post often because I think about what I write. Topics include ethics, relationships, and philosophy.