And Then I Didn’t

Dave Gutteridge
3 min readMay 10, 2021
A blank spiral bound notebook with a pencil laying on top.
(Photo by Ashley West Edwards on Unsplash)

I have a drawing, a story, a project, a thing, anything, one of many many things I want to work on. I’m sitting down, I’m at my computer, I have my pen and pencil and sketchbook and whatever else I need and I’m ready to go. Time to start.

But I don’t.

Why don’t I just do it? Just start writing, drawing, planning, outlining, making, creating. Just start, that’s all it takes. First line, first word, first step. Just start.

But I don’t.

I’ve read so many things over the years about productivity. Don’t pressure yourself to be perfect. Start writing badly, draw without fear of what anyone will think of it. You don’t even have to show it to anyone. Just start.

But I don’t.

I’ve learned a million tricks to beat procrastination, but I’ve also built an immunity for each one. I can’t use my ability to out think myself against me, it’s always one step ahead.

I’m sitting here for minutes that are starting to string together into noticeable portions of my day. I look at my phone, I’m not even sure if it’s distraction or comfort. I’ve read about “dopamine depletion” and how little entertainments sap your commitment. I put my phone down again. Just focus, just do it.

But I don’t.

--

--

Dave Gutteridge

I don't post often because I think about what I write. Topics include ethics, relationships, and philosophy.