Ambition versus time

Dave Gutteridge
7 min readAug 18, 2019

“Maybe it’s time for me to leave Japan,” my friend says. “I feel like maybe it’s now or never.”

He, like me, would like to be a standup comedian with more success than doing shows here and there in the cultural backwater of English comedy in Japan. He’s considering going to LA, one of the comedy Meccas, because there’s actual opportunity and reward there, if you can navigate all the significant challenges. As opposed to where we are now, where no matter how funny you are in front of an audience, ultimately, the most you’ll really get out of it is the satisfaction of making a room full of people laugh. There are no agents in the crowd scouting to see if there’s someone they can use, there are no auditions being held looking for breakout talents, the community isn’t big enough to be an ecosystem that cultivates entrepreneurial entertainment projects.

But why now?

“I feel my body decaying,” he says both truthfully and ironically. “I mean, I feel like any later than this, I might be too old to go for it.”

He’s younger than me by just a little bit, so if anything, I feel the same decay, and maybe a little more. The thing is, though, that I’ve felt the same decay all my life. “Decay” might be the wrong word. Something more like “already late”. When I was twenty five it felt like I had already taken a few wrong turns at age twenty and…

--

--

Dave Gutteridge

I don't post often because I think about what I write. Topics include ethics, relationships, and philosophy.